Yes, you can pass down your unwanted firearms to your immediate family. Immediate family is defined as spouses, parents, children, siblings, grandparents, grandchildren, nieces, nephews, first cousins, aunts, and uncles (in-laws do not apply). Immediate family members do not need background checks done to transfer firearms between one another. The firearm should not be transferred to any family member who is prohibited from purchasing and/or possessing a firearm. If you are selling to a non-immediate family member, a background check must be done by an FFL (Federal Firearm Licensee). (CRS 18-12-112)
When thinking about who you want to give your firearms to, it would be wise to make sure the below laws are followed. 18-12-111. Unlawful purchase of firearms (1) Any person who knowingly purchases or otherwise obtains a firearm on behalf of or for transfer to a person who the transferor knows or reasonably should know is ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to federal or state law commits a class 4 felony.
People may not purchase or possess firearms if they:
- Have been convicted of domestic violence
- Are fugitives
- Are drug addicts
- *Two or more DUIs or DWAIs in a ten year period, chronically use alcohol
- Are subjects of a restraining order for harassing, stalking, or threatening their child or intimate partner
- Have been adjudicated as mentally unfit
- Are undocumented aliens
- Have been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces
- Have renounced U.S. citizenship
- Under the laws of any U.S. state or federal law, you have been convicted of or are under indictment for:
- a felony,
- any crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year,
- an attempt to commit a felony,
- an act that would constitute a felony if committed in Colorado, or
- a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
- Note that would-be gun owners must pass a CO Bureau of Investigations (CBI) universal background check by a licensed firearms dealer in order to purchase a firearm. A licensed gun dealer is necessary even in private sales. But there is no mandatory waiting period when buying a gun.
- Also note that you must be at least 18 years old to buy a rifle or shotgun and at least 21 years old to buy a handgun in Colorado..
*Colorado deems you “chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that the applicant’s normal faculties are impaired” if you have two or more DUIs or DWAIs in a ten year period and you will not be able to obtain a permit to carry or own weapons.
*Please check Colorado Bureau of Investigation, https://cbi.colorado.gov, for updated and complete Colorado firearm laws